Leave a comment

Vivika Widow’s Top Ten Favourite Books

It’s not easy to pick a top ten favourite books because there are so many brilliant ones out there.  Les Miserables and War and Peace are arguably two of the best epic books ever written so I will leave them to stand alone on a pedestal of their own. After much deliberation here is my top ten books:

10: Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

We all know that Oscar Wilde was a master of his craft. He writes with wit and charm. I loved ‘Picture of Dorian Gray’. It is a little darker than the likes of ‘Importance of being Earnest’ but that suits me nicely.

dorian

9: Dr jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

I always did love Robert Louis Stevenson. He wrote the best adventure books but ‘Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde’ was something extra special. It wasn’t an adventure but a quirky horror story which I love. It is a tantalising look at the evil that resides within us all and it is definitely well worth the read.

jekyll

8: Crime and Punishment by Fydor Dostoevsky

Crime and Punishment is a first class ticket on a descent into madness and no one writes that descent better than Doestevsky. Murder, beautiful Russian scenery and a battle of conscience. The narrative is dark and engaging and even when its all over you still want more.

crime

7: The Goosebumps Series by R.L Stine

As I teenager I couldn’t get enough of these books. It would be hard to pick a favourite because I loved them all. If I were to choose it would be ‘Say cheese and die’, simply because it was the first I read and was hooked from there. Charming, cheesy fun that I still love to this day.

goosebumps

6: The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe

Edgar Allen Poe is a huge influence of mine. His poems are haunting, thrilling and delivered with such intensity it is difficult not to be drawn in. Although there were many greats ‘The Raven’ stands out as being one of the very best. Simple yet powerful.

raven

5: Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens is one of my favourite authors. Any of his books could have rightfully made my top ten list but since the ‘Tale of Two Cities’ has such a brilliant plot and an ending that is a real sucker punch I have chose it above all the others.

tale

4: Going Postal by Terry Pratchett

No one writes with comedy quite like Terry Pratchett. I was introduced to him at twelve and I am so glad I was. The ability to make you laugh, cry and gasp. He makes his fictional world seem so real. ‘Going Postal’ was hilarious and well thought up.

postal

3: George’s Marvellous Medicine by Roald Dahl.

If there is ever a crown for the greatest writer of children’s fiction then Roald Dahl deserves it. Although his books do transcend age and can be enjoyed at any stage of life. I picked ‘George’s Marvellous Medicine’ as my favourite because like ‘Say cheese and Die’ in the Goosebumps series it was the first Dahl book I ever read. Roald Dahl was the reason I picked up a pen and began writing my own stories. A complete inspiration and a terrific writer.

medi

3: Macbeth by William Shakespeare

One of the best stage plays ever written. William Shakespeare’s words have lived on for centuries for a reason. Macbeth is my personal favourite. Gory, intense, bold and has witches. What more could want from a story?

macbeth

1: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Frankenstein would have to be my absolute favourite story of all time. A mad scientist, beautiful narrative and a monster rampaging through a small town. It has all the brilliance of a great horror story but underneath is an amazing piece of science fiction. Mary Shelley was ahead of her time in the way she approached her work. I believe Frankenstein has been rehashed so many times simply because of its brilliance. I It describes a horrific experience but told from a very poetic point of view.

mshelley_frankenstein_lg

For more information on the books written by Vivika Widow check out our website: www.torrancemediagroup.com

About torranceglobal1956

Bringing you the most up to date news on current events, trades and finance, celebrity gossip and much much more!

Leave a Reply

