Leave a comment

Don’t Waste Happiness; by Neha Gunnoo

Originally published  iheartmylife26.wordpress.com March 3 2016

THOUGHTS. THOUGHTS. THOUGHTS.

I have come across so many people who hate their job, who complain every single day of their life every morning. “I hate Mondays!” , “I don’t want to wake up to go to work” , “Hope the public holidays fall on weekdays” , “Thank God it’s Friday-nowork for two days.

I have always questioned this; why is it that no one ever say: “I love my job”

We work for 5 days per week, some people even 6 days.

We spend 40-45 hours of our life in our workplace, so how can we live a life where most of the hours are spent in “no-happiness way”?

That always intrigued me and people always told me, “you’ll understand when you start working”

So, they mean that when I start working, my life will be miserable?

I have meant maybe one to five people in this country who adored their job. Just imagine! In 100%, only 1-5% loved their job.

How to explain this? Without saying, I wanted to be among those 5% !

So, I did my research. I asked those 5%, what were their secrets? I mean, they had the same characteristics as those other 95% ; they rarely sleep, sometimes they don’t have time to eat, the work pressure, stress and deadlines were present in their work life too.

So, how come they were happy? How come they never complained about going to their job every morning?

Their answers were more or less the same:

“I love what am doing” , “This is what I always wanted to be” , “I am living my dream career”.

And, I was like, “That’s it? This is the key to a happy life?”

Vishen Lakhiani, the Founder of MindValley Academy, preaches that our society has established rules in people’s mind from decades. Rules like, we have to go to college, choose the subjects, make a list of all the jobs that pay well and learn something which will help to get those jobs.

Let me tell you a little story:

My cousin, let’s call him Max. Max loves Art, since childhood. He has always dreamed of becoming a famous, renowned artist. Since drawing is his passion, this has motivates him to research, learn, and improve himself in the most tiniest details. Max has become really good in Art. I have seen his work, it’s unbelievable!

Max is in college and he is not really good academically. He hates Maths. But since it’s the rule of the society, Max has to learn Mathematics whether he likes it or not. Max wished that he could spend his days improvising himself on Art only, instead of trying to learn something which he hates.

Results came out and Max got the highest marks in Art, but he failed in Maths. Max doesn’t care about his other grades. He has got the grade he needed to join a professional Art Institute. Happy Max goes and share his career dreams with his family. Seeing his failure in Mathematics, his parents gave him a good scolding but Max insists that he has the motivation & talent to become an artist.

His parents rebuked him, saying that artists don’t make money!

The society laughed at him, saying that he is lazy, he doesn’t like to study & that’s why he draws!

Max’s parents say that they are ashamed of him. They put him in a computer-course & warned him to remove this stupid idea of becoming an artist.

The “rules” of the society killed his creativity. Killed his dream.

Today, Max works as an IT officer. Max has learned computing. He gets good money.

His parents are happy. The society labelled him from “lazy” to “hard working”.

But is Max happy?

Max hates his job. He complains every single day of his life. He loves Fridays & hates Mondays!

So, is it because of the rules of society that some people are frustrated and unhappy in their job? Sure, there are other reasons.

But, how many people die at 25 & aren’t buried until they are 75?

Maybe if Max continued his dream, he would have become the most famous & rich artist and change the “rule” that artists don’t make money enough.

Some people don’t even know what they love doing. I didn’t know what I wanted to become till I was 20!

A lack of guidance? Nopes!

I had lots of guidance from teachers, family, parents, society. Some told me to be an Accountant, others be a Doctor. Some would say Banking! Why? Because banks make lots of money!

But nobody asked, “What do you love?” or “Just do what you love & makes you happy”

Thoughts. Thoughts. Thoughts.

Vishen Lakhiani said that, if you wanna know what you love, ask yourself just 3 questions.

What do you want to experience in life? ( e.g Travel, Health, Love, Car, House, Happiness)

How do you want to grow? ( What do you want to learn- this is related to your career, academically, spiritually)

What do you want to contribute to the society? (Anything to help people selflessly)

And as you will let it flow by responding to those questions, you are going to find your answers.

“Change your thoughts. So that when people ask you every morning where are you going, you don’t respond by saying ‘I’m going to work’ , but your answer is ‘I’m going to live a dream of mine’” ~ Neha Gunnoo

About torranceglobal1956

Bringing you the most up to date news on current events, trades and finance, celebrity gossip and much much more!

Leave a Reply

